close arrow-right twitter
School Logo


Curriculum Intent


At Hibaldstow Academy, our aim is for every child within our school to flourish academically, socially and personally through the challenging, engaging and knowledge led curriculum that has been developed across our school. Whilst our curriculum encompasses the formal requirements of the National Curriculum, it is ambitious for all children with careful sequencing and planning, underpinned by research.  In addition, we provide our pupils with a range of learning experiences beyond the classroom which inspires our pupils so that they can contribute positively to the local, national and global community. Ultimately, our curriculum aims to nurture our pupils, allowing them to be good role models and well-rounded individuals in all aspects of their lives.

In this section you will find out about our curriculum and more about the ways we teach in different classes.  We teach a full and broad curriculum that reflects our local area and the needs of the children and families within our community.  Our teachers work closely with their partner classes at Scawby Academy to ensure that pupils are engaged with deep and interesting learning that go beyond the expectations of the National Curriculum. 

Our Approaches to Teaching and Learning

This document outlines our methods and approaches to teaching and learning at Hibaldstow Academy.

Our Curriculum

Subject leaders across the Academy Trust are work together to develop a curriculum plan that ensures strong progression and knowledge against the scope and breadth of the National Curriculum, our local area and the pupils attending our academy.  


As a small village school our cohort sizes change and this often leads to changes in class structures from year to year.  Our curriculum plan therefore requires regular reviews in order to ensure that the National Curriculum is appropriately taught. 


Please find below our long term plans for the academic year 2023-2024.


Autumn 1 2023

Autumn 2 2023

Spring 1 2024

The National Curriculum states that all state schools in England and Wales should provide a balanced and broadly based curriculum that:

  • Promotes the spiritual, moral, cultural, mental and physical development of pupils at the school and of society
  • Prepares pupils at the school for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of adult life


In primary schools, learning is organised into three phases:

Early Years Foundation Stage: aged 4-5 (Reception class)

Key Stage 1: ages 5-7 (Years 1-2)

Key Stage 2: ages 7-11 (Years 3-6)


At Key Stages 1 and 2, the statutory subjects that all pupils must study are:

  • Art and Design
  • Design and Technology
  • English
  • Geography
  • History
  • Computing
  • Languages - French (KS2)
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Physical Education (PE)
  • Science


Religious Education (RE) and Personal, Social, Health and Citizenship Education (PSHCE) must also be provided at Key Stages 1 and 2.